Decisive Decision Making

The older I get the more I realize just how important the decision making process is. Sometimes even the simplest of decisions can make or break a situation. That’s why it’s crucial to make the RIGHT decision the FIRST time. It’s a funny analogy but decision making is actually a lot like learning to wear make-up. You start out with a little bit of lip gloss, then you move on to master eye-shadow and then the works but if you don’t practice and apply it properly you just end up looking silly! I remember when I was younger I had the most difficult time making decisions – and it didn’t matter how big or small. I hated worrying about if I was making the right decision or not, so many times it was simply easier for me not to make a decision. The thing I didn’t realize though is that even when I didn’t make a decision I was still deciding.

Indecision is a decision. When you live indecisively you can miss out on some great times and opportunities. For me, the fear of failure ended up paralyzing me to where I would DECIDE not to make any decisions for my life. Ironic, right? Know why decisions seemed so scary to me and like such a big deal? Because I wasn’t fully TRUSTING God like I need to. When you trust God to guide your decisions you take the YOU out of the equation. Much of the time God is just waiting for us to open the door for Him to work miracles in our life. Unfortunately though, oftentimes when we’re so afraid of making the wrong decision that we over-analyze everything and rely on our own smarts instead. In turn, we end up making bad decisions when all we had to do was trust God with it all in the beginning!

Pray. Whenever a tough decision presents itself praying should ALWAYS be the first step you take. God created you, He knows your past, He knows your future, He loves you and only wants the best for you! Pray for Him to give you wisdom and (here’s a BIG key) TRUST that He will show you the right path to take!

Take a Breath. Before you make an important decision try clearing your mind instead of thinking through it and rationalizing a solution yourself. While you’re taking a breath, read your Bible or listen to some Christian music so you can gain some perspective and encouragement.

Follow your peace. As a Christian, peace is one of the greatest tools that God gives us. It helps to direct us along the journey of life. Remember to NEVER step out farther than your peace can carry you — meaning if you don’t have peace, DON’T do it! God’s path for your life will never call for you to live out of peace, stressed out and confused. Just trust Him and rest in His peace.

Flex them muscles! As I mentioned earlier, good decision making takes practice. Every new good habit starts with baby steps so start small. Start employing God’s wisdom in even the day’s simplest decisions like where to eat lunch or where to park. I guarantee you will be amazed by the little miracles that start popping up and how eventually decision making won’t seem so scary. Once you’ve learned how to incorporate and lean on God in the smallest of decisions, you’ll find yourself doing the exact same thing with big decisions! And that’s exactly how God has called us to live!

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Leave a Reply

