Make Every Day A Special Occasion

The other day I had a personal breakthrough.  I walked into my closet to get dressed, saw a new outfit that I wanted to wear, and I put it on to start my day.  For most people this may not be a great accomplishment but for me it was.  You see, ever since I was a little girl I would save outfits, shoes, jewelry, and other things for “special occasions”.  I remember when I was like 4, I wanted this pair of flats that looked just like Dorothy’s from the Wizard of Oz.  I love them so much that I begged my mom to buy them for me.  When she did get them for me, I rarely wore them because I was saving them for special occasions.  This thought process followed me all through my life that is until recently.

As I stood in my closet the other day I thought to myself: “Why am I waiting for some other day to be special?  Why can’t today be special too?”  Everyday is a gift and we should all treat it as such.  Today may not feel as exciting as the thought of going to a concert on Friday, but make it special!  Go out of your way to celebrate today.  Celebrate who you are, who God created you to be.

“This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalms 118:24

While this mindset may seem innocent when it comes to what you wear, imagine what would happen if we let it sink into other areas of our lives.  What if instead of being a giving person, we think “well it’s Christmastime so I’ll give to a charity now.”  This is a fantastic thing to do, but don’t let your love for others stop after you put away the tree and lights.  What if we thought “I don’t feel like smiling today, maybe tomorrow will be better.”  That smile that you held in because you were waiting for a better time may have made someone else’s day. 

One thing that I have learned is that we need to make even the most mundane day feel like a blessing, because it is.  None of us are promised a tomorrow so why not live today to the fullest?  Take a chance.  Tell your loved ones how much they mean to you.  Spend your time wisely and do something incredible with your life! You can do it, after all:

 “I can do all things through him who gives me strength.” – Philippians 4:13

I challenge you to make the most of every day.  Do what you can to change boring into phenomenal!  Make someone’s day a little brighter.  You have what it takes to change this world for the better to get out there and shine the light! 🙂

EXTRAORDINARY

Leave a Reply

