Letting Go and Hanging On

Sometimes it feels like my life is a scene out of a movie.  Unfortunately, I’m not talking about the scene where the girl gets a huge promotion, finds her prince charming, and lives happily ever after.  You see, my scene is about 20 minutes before that.  During the time when she’s trying to figure out what she wants out of life.  Who will she be?  Will she ever get married?  What career will she have?  This is the process that my mind has continuously gone through.  I have so many dreams in my heart that I am just waiting to see come to pass and (I’m sure like many of you) I was getting impatient and anxious.

So what did I do?  I would reason, trying and trying and trying to think of all the different paths to take to make my dreams come true.  In the end, it proved to have the same effect as banging my head against a wall!  My reasoning only left me frustrated and discouraged.  Them my human nature got the best of me and I decided to throw myself a little pity party.  I thought “God, why aren’t my dreams coming true?” “Why do I see no movement?” I knew my thought process was wrong, but really, why wasn’t I seeing any movement?  I then felt God tell me that I could think and plan all I want but only He knows the perfect plan for my life and can make my dreams come true.  So why worry about it?  Why waste a single moment fretting over my future when God has the perfect plan?

This is the point when I learned that I needed to let go.  Let go of all of my worries about the future and just trust God 100% with my life.  And whether I see it or not, He is working behind the scenes to make all of my dreams come true in His timing.  After all, only He can give me the strength, talent, love, care and courage that I need to shine bright in this dark world.  Ultimately, the purpose of my life is to serve Him and to be who He created me to be.  While I’m not exactly sure what He has in store for my future, I am working on building my faith and trust in Him no matter what my circumstances are.  Here are a couple of verses that are helping me to build faith and trust:

“For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  – Jeremiah 29:11

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”  – Proverbs 3:5-6

While I’m not sure what fairytale ending God has in store for my life, I am learning to let go of my plans and worries.  Instead, I’m learning to totally trust Him and am hanging on to His word and plan for my life.

Here are a few songs that have also helped to encourage me and build my faith and trust:

“Let Go” – Barlow Girl http://www.myspace.com/music/player?sid=53356694&ac=now

“I’m Letting Go” – Francesca Battistelli http://www.myspace.com/music/player?sid=53356694&ac=now

“Hanging On” – Britt Nicole http://www.myspace.com/music/player?sid=53356694&ac=now

Leave a Reply

