How to Organize Your Closet in Three Easy Steps

It is important to have an organized closet so that you can easily spot items to mix and match. To begin organizing your closet, I would first suggest emptying it entirely. It might take time, but it’s worth it in the long run to start with a fresh slate. Once this step is complete, you’re  ready to begin the organization process.

1.      Sort clothing. Decide whether you want to keep, sell, or donate each item of clothing. If you’re not sure whether or not you want to keep something, try it on. Make sure to only keep things that fit well and that you’ve worn in the last year or two. The goal is to keep items that help to build a great wardrobe that you absolutely love. If the item doesn’t match with anything else in your closet, you might want to consider getting rid of it. Or if you really like the item, you might want to purchase something to go with it.

2.      Organize clothing. Begin organizing the clothing you want to keep by type. Group together similar items, such as all of your pants, dresses, long-sleeved tops, short-sleeved tops, etc. Next, coordinate the various types by color, going from light to dark. Place the sorted clothing on the racks in your closet, using either plastic or wooden hangers. Wire hangers tend to stretch out your clothing. You can fold sweaters or jeans and stack them on shelves if you run out of room. Use an over-the-door hanging shoe rack to save space in your closet. Attach hooks to the wall of your closet to hang belts. Use as much of the vertical space in your closet as possible, especially if you find yourself running out of room.

3.      Shop for clothing. When you are finished organizing your clothes, you may have discovered that you are missing a few key items to make your wardrobe complete. Make a list of the items you want to purchase to complete your outfits, and shop for these items only. Don’t treat this as a shopping spree because you don’t want to buy impulse items that do not match anything in your closet. Be intentional, and you will be happy with the results.

I have included some pictures of my own closet to give you some inspiration. Before I got rid of old clothes and organized everything, my closet looked like an explosion had gone off inside. I had a closet full of clothes, but every time I looked inside, I bemoaned that I had “nothing to wear!”

DSCN1112

DSCN1113

I grouped items together by type and color to make things easier to spot. I hung a basket from my closet to store my belts, and I put all of my necklaces as well as an inspiration board on my wall in order to take advantage of vertical space. Purses are stored in a line on top of one of the shelves. When I get ready in the morning, I find it much easier to find specific items to mix and match into an outfit.

4 comments

  1. julie · July 15, 2013

    I love your tips and ideas. So easy! 🙂 thank you

    • bffmagazine · July 16, 2013

      Thanks for reading!..glad you enjoyed the article Julie! 🙂

  2. ljsoper · July 16, 2013

    What great ideas!

Leave a Reply

