Be patient

Be patient.  How is it that those two small words can prove to be such a challenge sometimes?  As a kid, I remember getting impatient multiple times during family trips to Disney World.  “Are we there yet?” I would ask over and over again.  “Just be patient” my mom would reply in hopes that I would stop repeating the question.  I still find myself having impatient moments from time to time.  Only instead of asking my mom, I ask God: “When am I going to find my soul mate?”, “When will I find the right career for me?”, “When am I going to see my dreams come true?”  That’s when I would hear those two little words louder than ever, be patient. 

You see, as a human being, I have made all of these plans as to how my life would go.  I remember when I was little thinking that by the time I was 21, I would be with the man I was going to marry and have the career of my dreams lined up.  Of course, this did not happen the way I planned it.  The thing that I kept forgetting was that I needed to be patient while waiting for God’s timing and His plan for my life.  While my plan sounded great at the time, obviously it wasn’t God’s perfect plan for my life.  Over the years, I have gone through my share of disappointments, challenges, victories, and opportunities.  Along the way, God has used these experiences to shape me into the person that He created me to be. 

Here I am, 24 years old and still attempting to be patient while God leads me on this crazy journey called life. While your life may not look the way you want it to right now, I just want to challenge you to enjoy every day and be patient for God’s best in your life.  Don’t make the mistake that I did when I was little of just enjoying my time at Disney World…enjoy the journey!  Enjoy the little blessings that God brings across your path each day and constantly remind yourself to be patient.  I promise you, He will not disappoint! 

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.”

~Colossians 3:11-13

 

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.”

~Psalm 40:1

 

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within.”

~Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

